top of page

The Five Major Categories of Government Contracting

Government contracting is a big business. Companies that can win government contracts can earn significant revenue by supplying goods and services to the government. There are five major categories of government contracting: information technology, construction, product procurement, research and development, and management and consulting services. Knowing which category your company falls into is the first step in winning government contracts. In this blog post, we will examine each of the five major categories in detail and discuss what businesses should do to compete for contracts within each category.

1. Fixed-Price Contracts

Fixed-price contracts are the most common type of government contract. In a fixed-price contract, the contractor agrees to provide goods or services at a set price, regardless of how much it costs them to actually produce the goods or services. This type of contract is typically used when the government knows precisely what it wants and how much it is willing to pay for it.

2. Time and Materials Contracts

Time and materials contracts are similar to fixed-price contracts, but instead of paying a set price for the entire project, the government pays an hourly rate for the labor involved plus the cost of materials. This type of contract is typically used when the scope of work is not well defined or is subject to change.

3. Cost Reimbursement Contracts

Cost reimbursement contracts are used when the government wants to reimburse the contractor for their actual costs incurred in performing the work. This type of contract is typically used when the scope of work is not well defined or is subject to change.

4. Incentive Contracts

Incentive contracts are used to motivate contractors to achieve specific objectives. These objectives could be reducing costs, increasing quality, or meeting a schedule milestone. Incentive contracts typically include both positive and negative incentives, meaning that the contractor can earn bonus payments for meeting or exceeding objectives but can also be penalized if they do not meet the objectives.

5. Indefinite Delivery & Quantity Contracts

Indefinite delivery contracts are used when the government wants to purchase goods or services on an as-needed basis. The government will specify a maximum quantity that it may purchase under the contract but does not have to make any specific purchase orders. Indefinite quantity contracts are similar but do require the government to make specific purchase orders for goods or services. These types of contracts are typically used when the government needs to maintain a strategic reserve of goods or services.

Understanding the different types of government contracting can help you make more informed decisions about which contracts to pursue and increase your chances of winning bids. Are there any other types of government contracts that you’re interested in learning more about? Let us know, and we’ll be happy to provide additional information or even write a blog post about it.

If you're looking for more strategies to help, get into government contracting or start making more money in this area, we can help! Contact us today.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page